Thursday, September 23, 2010

Invitation to 2010 Peter Mackler Award Ceremony

Reporters Without Borders / Global Media Forum

October 22, 2010
6.00 PM

Join us for the presentation of this year's
Recipient : Ilya Barabanov

Guest Speaker: J. S. Tissainayagam, 2009 Peter Mackler Award winner
Keynote Speaker: David Hoffman, Pulitzer Prize Winner, Author: The Dead Hand
National Press Club - 529 14th Street, N. W.
Washington DC

Cocktail reception to follow with Silent Auction to benefit the Peter Mackler Award
Tickets: $25 ($10 with student ID)
Available at the door or in advance at
More Information:

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Peter Mackler Award Announces 2010 Speakers

NEW YORK, September 21, 2010 - The Peter Mackler Award for Courageous and Ethical Journalism announced today the speakers for the 2010 award ceremony, honoring Ilya Barabanov, deputy editor of the Russian opposition weekly The New Times. The ceremony will take place October 22, 2010 at the National Press Club in Washington, DC.
  • J.S. Tissainayagam (Guest Speaker)
    J. S. Tissainayagam, Sri Lanka, is the 2009 winner of the Peter Mackler Award. He was announced as the Award's first recipient on August 31, 2009, the same day he was convicted on terrorism charges relating to his work as a journalist. Tissainayagam was pardoned by the Sri Lankan government on May 3, 2010. He is currently a Nieman Fellow at Harvard University. This will be Tissainayagam's first public speaking engagement since his pardon and arriving in the United States last August.

  • David Hoffman (Keynote Speaker)
    David E. Hoffman is a contributing editor at the Washington Post and Foreign Policy magazine. For The Post, he covered the White House during the presidencies of Ronald Reagan and George H. W. Bush, and was subsequently diplomatic correspondent andJerusalem correspondent. From 1995 to 2001, he served as Moscow bureau chief, and later as foreign editor and assistant managing editor for foreign news. He is the author of The Dead Hand and The Oligarchs: Wealth and Power in the New Russia. He lives in Maryland.

About the Peter Mackler Award for Courageous and Ethical Journalism

The Peter Mackler Award for Courageous and Ethical Journalism was founded in June, 2008 to honor the memory of Peter Mackler, a Brooklyn-born thirty-five year veteran journalist who championed ethical journalism, freedom of expression. Mackler helped transform the news agency Agence France Press (AFP) into the international competitor that it is today. Mackler also founded the Global Media Forum, which has helped to train journalists and non-profit organizations to use the media as a tool for social change, and Project Plato, which teaches journalism as a life skill to disadvantaged teenagers.

The Peter Mackler award rewards journalists who fight courageously and ethically to report the news in countries where freedom of the press is either not guaranteed or not recognized. The Award is administered jointly by Global Media Forum and Reporters Without Borders. The Award ceremony will take place on October 22, 2010 at 6PM at the National Press Club in Washington, DC, 529 14th St. N.W, 13th Fl.; Washington, DC 20045. The ceremony will be followed by a networking hour. There will be a silent auction.

Camille J. Mackler
Project Director, Peter Mackler Award
Global Media Forum
Tel: +1-917-655-3548

Friday, September 3, 2010

2010 PMA Winner's Offices Raided Again

The editorial offices of Russian opposition news magazine The New Times was again raided yesterday by police officers. Deputy Editor, and 2010 Peter Mackler Award recipient, Ilya Barabanov stated that "about five, some in masks and some armed, came to the office to carry out what they called 'investigative actions'." Reporters Without Borders condemned the raid. The organization stated that it "reiterates its support of the New Times and all of its staff, who have a record of doing major investigative stories on subjects of great public interest, the very essence of quality journalism."

The magazine alerted several news organizations as the raid began, and Russian police colonel Stanlislav Pashkovsky was recorded as saying "we suggest that you voluntarily -- voluntarily -- give us the recordings of your interviews with the present and former OMON staff that took place prior to the publication of the article. If you refuse to do so, we will put this in writing now." The magazine also posted video of the raid on its website. The New Times' Editor in Chief Yevgenia Albats told the press she expects more raids and characterized the action as intidimidation of the independent press.

The New Time's deputy editor Ilya Barabanov was named winner of the 2010 Peter Mackler Award on August 22, 2010. He will receive the award at a ceremony at the National Press Club in Washington, DC on October 22, 2010.